Sean Phelan PT, DPT, Physical Therapist

Sean earned his Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Midwestern University in Downer’s Grove. He also has a Bachelor of Pre-Physical Therapy degree with a minor in Psychology from Northern Illinois University. Sean enjoys treating patients of all ages and ability levels to help enhance their quality of life with his blended manual therapy and exercise-based treatment approach.

Certifications and Training
  • Doctor of Physical Therapy
  • Licensed Physical Therapist by the State of Illinois
Education

Midwestern University

  • Doctorate in Physical Therapy, 2019

What Sean Has to Say

Why do you work for Body Gears?

I was initially drawn to the emphasis placed on mastering advanced techniques and the focus on individual manual therapy time with patients. I appreciate the culture here where I’m pushed to continually advance my skills rather than remain stagnate with what I’m comfortable with. Body Gears’ focus on providing clinicians with the best opportunities to learn and grow is really invaluable and it’s refreshing to give each patient their own tailored treatment plan rather than the assembly line approach.

Which patients are your favorite to work with?

I really enjoy working with people with limitations in their spine or lower extremities. Both of these areas are integral to supporting the weight of the body and performing all manners of activities from something as simple as standing up to something as advanced as playing soccer or golf. It’s incredibly gratifying to help someone simply learn to walk again and I also love the challenge of helping patients achieve their unique recreational goals.

What sparked your interest in physical therapy?

When it was time for me to decide on my career path, all I knew was that I wanted to have a positive impact on people’s lives. I began looking at healthcare careers and spoke with my sister who was pursuing a career in Occupational Therapy. From there I began to develop an interest in the rehabilitative disciplines. After doing my own research, I decided to major in Physical Therapy (mostly because it seemed to be the best fit for me and a little bit because I didn’t want to just copy my older sister). I ultimately ended up making the right choice and I love what I do.

What certifications are you looking to achieve?

I’m always interested in furthering my orthopedic skills and plan on ultimately become OCS certified (Orthopedic Clinical Specialist). I’ve also developed a strong interest in the Functional Manual Therapy® style of hands-on treatment and may pursue certification as a CFMT (Certified Functional Manual Therapist) as well.

Describe your perfect Saturday. 

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends as much as I can and appreciate spending a lazy Saturday together after a long week. However, since I was never terribly adventurous growing up, I now also love to go out and do new things. Whether it’s trying foreign food, checking out different neighborhoods, or doing new activities, there’s always lots going on near Oak Park.